• Important Info:

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow The Armchair HR Manager – Advice from an "HR Fan" on WordPress.com
  • Recent Posts

Invest in those that invest in you…or something like that

I am not entirely sure this is the right title for this post, and this theme is a bit different than what I usually post, but here goes: It has been some time since I last posted on The Armchair HR Manager. I could come up with a ton of blogger excuses – work is too busy, too much stuff going on outside of work, it’s summer, etc., but most of that would be crap.

For those that know me well on a personal level, they know that I am a very private person, which I know is a bit strange considering my social media footprint. However, most of my social media time revolves around my professional brand, save for some fun I have on Instagram (check me out at hr_scottboulton). The real reason that I have been absent on the blogging front for the entire month of July is that I have been going through some challenges in my personal life. The beauty of these challenges is that it has opened my eyes to what is really important in life and what truly matters.

One of the things that has come to light during the past several months for me is the fabulous support network that I have. I mean, I always thought and felt I had great friends and family; however, the amount of support I have seen, felt and realized over the past few months has been overwhelming. I have always prided myself on building close, personal friendships over the years. While I have a large circle of ‘acquaintances’, I have maintained a smaller circle of close friends. In fact, many people I was friends with growing up, still remain some of my closest friends.

To that extent, I have always tried to “invest” in these friendships. This was done not with the intent of reaping some sort of benefit or anything from the friendship, but simply from a “give” perspective into the friendship so as to make it work. I feel you need to do that in order for a friendship to grow, develop and be maintained. Here is what I learned big time over the past few months – if you invest in those friendships, those true friends are there for you when you need them the most. The amount of support I have received from my “inner circle” over the past few months has been overwhelming to say the least. These are friends that have their own families and commitments but that make the time for you. These are friends that drop things on short notice to make you a priority and friends that shift their busy schedules and lives around on a moment’s notice to provide you the support you need…all without even being asked to do so.

I am sure I have neglected some of these friendships over the years. We all get busy in our lives and end up going separate ways; however this is an important life lesson for me. Keep investing in those friendships. Make time for each other. Don’t get too wrapped in your life and surviving the “daily grind.” Reach out to each other, check in and be present. Keep investing in those friendships and maintain your inner circle. If you are like me, those people are some of the most important humans in your life. As always, I welcome your comments.

Photo courtesy of Unsplash.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

