• Important Info:

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow The Armchair HR Manager – Advice from an "HR Fan" on WordPress.com
  • Recent Posts

Little Moments

Typically when I blog, I tend to be a bit more verbose than your average HR guy.  However, today, I wanted to copy the style of one of my favourite bloggers, Jay Kuhns, who tends to write very compact and powerful posts over at No Excuses HR.  I can’t measure up to Jay’s writing style, but hopefully he feels that copying is the sincerest form of flattery!

I wanted to throw out a simple question to all the HR Pros, leaders and managers who follow the Armchair HR Manager.  That is, are you taking advantage of the little moments in your organization(s)?

Thank you messageWe all get caught up in the hectic, day to day workings of our jobs.  Whether we are solving problems, putting out the metaphorical fires or strategically changing our organizations, we often miss the little moments.  The little moments I am referring to are those opportunities to provide a bit of thanks and/or recognition to our employees for what they do, WHEN they do it.  I am as guilty as the next person of inadvertently taking for granted what people do.  I have had the privilege of working with some really great people: great at their jobs AND great people.  So great, in fact, that when they do great things, this often appears to me, at first blush, as being the norm.  Being human, I sometimes forget to thank them and for that, I am not being a good leader and setting the example.

What makes that all the more embarrassing is that I constantly coach my operations partners on making sure they are recognizing and thanking their staff so this serves as a reminder to me – I need to do a better job.  As leaders, we all need to make sure we are not missing the little moments.  Let’s find be more observant at our organizations.  Let’s not take what our people do for granted.  Let’s really look for those little moments where we can thank our people and recognize them for what they do.  Let’s lead the way for how we all want to be treated.  Let’s be stewards for our organizations and the type of culture we want to create.  “Thank you” are two powerful tools we have in our leadership arsenal…let’s make sure we all use them.  Who is with me?

Image courtesy of stockimages/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

