• Important Info:

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow The Armchair HR Manager – Advice from an "HR Fan" on WordPress.com
  • Recent Posts

I am challenging myself to be a better HR Pro in 2015

I am not one to make New Year’s resolutions. Personally, I feel that they are often just emotional, generic statements that we say/write down in order to make ourselves feel going into a new year. You know, “I resolve to lose weight, exercise more, eat better, meet new people, volunteer, etc. But hey, that’s just my opinion based on personal experience! However, in terms of my professional life, I am a firm believer in establishing some short to mid-term goals that help me focus my energy and efforts so as to make me a better HR Professional.

ChallengeFor example, at the end of 2011, I had established a goal of increasing my social media presence on Twitter. I wanted to do this so as to expand my network of professional contacts, give back to the HR community in terms of content sharing, help promote my personal brand and increase my online recruiting ability/presence. My mid-term to longer term goal for 2012 and into 2013/14 was to start my own blog as a means of sharing my voice (writing) with the HR community and as another way to give back. At the end of each year, I have felt pretty good about what I set out to do and where I landed.

For 2015, I was having a real tough time deciding on what professional goal(s) to set for myself. Then it hit me – I need to focus on becoming a better overall HR Professional in 2015. When I look back on the last year or so and did some self-reflecting, I feel that I have been a bit too complacent as an HR Pro. No, wait that might be a bit too harsh. Let’s say I have gotten a bit too “comfortable” as an HR Pro. Looking back as well as ahead I have determined that I need to stretch myself more as an HR Pro. I really want to challenge myself more within the context of my profession. Whether or not you believe in New Year’s resolutions, goals, statements or whatever you want to call them, who is with me in thinking that we, as HR Pros, can all challenge ourselves to be better HR Pros in 2015?

Personally, here is what this will mean for me:

  1. I am going to focus on improving my presentation and public speaking skills. I always thought I did a pretty good of this (speaking & presenting), but having been asked to speak more and more within the HR community last year AND having experienced first-hand good speakers, I realized I really do need to improve in these areas.
  2. Speak/present more to non-HR groups. I realized during the latter stages of 2014 that if I truly want to enhance the value and visibility of the HR profession, I need to stop hanging out so much with HR people! Now, I don’t mean as an absolute. I love my HR peeps and love talking shop (HR geek alert) with anyone in the profession; however, I feel as a member of the HR community, I have a responsibility to promote the value of the profession to non-HR folks. Therefore, my goal is to speak/present more to other professions, industry groups and associations that are NOT focused on HR professionals.
  3. Get out of my office more. I didn’t realize how focused I had become on my own “HR work” in 2014. With trying to balance so many projects, deadlines and deliverables, I had become a slave to my office. In previous years, I had always made it a point to get out and speak with staff in their office/cube, work setting, etc. I had also met with many industry colleagues at their place of work or at a coffee shop – just to touch base and talk shop. In 2014 I had gotten away from that and in 2015 I intend to change that. I think a huge part of being an HR Pro is to be ‘seen’ out where the work is being done. Employees and managers need to know that you understand them and their business challenges. That all starts by being out where the work is being done. I “resolve” to get back to doing that again!

There you have it, three short term goals for 2015 that I think are do-able do’s. Hopefully as fellow HR Pros reading this, you are thinking, “yeah, I can do that to!” So, I want to throw the challenge out there to my fellow HR colleagues to see if we can all challenge ourselves to be better HR Pros in 2015 in our own individual and unique ways. Who is with me?

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

4 Responses

  1. I could basically copy your goals as my own. Do more dope stuff. No strings in 2015 Scott

  2. Good for you Scott. I think it is very easy for people in busy roles to just “go with the flow” and let their days drive them. Only by stepping back from the “day to day”, doing a little self evaluation and making a commitment to change can we continue to evolve in our role. None of us can afford to be complacent! I wish you every success in your new improved HR self!

Leave a Reply

