• Important Info:

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow The Armchair HR Manager – Advice from an "HR Fan" on WordPress.com
  • Recent Posts

How to avoid the post Talent Connect conference hangover

Well another year has come and gone for LinkedIn Talent Connect – Las Vegas style. Like most attendees, I had a jammed packed three days as I was there for the very beginning on Tuesday and stayed to the (not so) bitter end on Thursday. Thus, I feel I maximized my conference experience completely. The problem now is how I deal with the post Talent Connect hangover (no, not that kind of hangover!) For three days I was immersed in amazing workshops and keynotes and was completely absorbed in the talent acquisition world. I got to network with great people that I met last year while also meeting many more new folks this year – both in person and virtually! It was an exciting and overwhelming time, but one that really stirred the creative juices! So now, after having flown home across four time zones and acclimating myself to the “real world” again, I find that all the energy, focus and excitement from the conference has petered off a bit as the demands of the job once again take over day to day life.

LinkedIn PenThe conference itself was of critical importance to me and my team and there was SO much great content shared, so I don’t want to lose the momentum gained from the conference. It would be far too easy to place all the materials and conference notes aside and convince myself that I will “get to that later.” The reality of the situation is that I know I won’t. So, here is my (mostly) foolproof plan to make sure I leverage the momentum I gained attending Talent Connect, stay connected with those I met and apply what I learned on the job as soon as possible:

1. Go to the Talent Connect Slideshare site and download the slide decks. Linkedin provided most of the decks on Slideshare so I would be crazy to not take advantage of this and make sure that I have as much of this information as possible. This way, I can cross reference the slides with the notes that I took to make sure I captured everything as accurately as possible.

2. Reach out on Linkedin to those new folks that I met at the conference. I got the opportunity to meet some really switched on folks at the conference and I don’t want to lose touch with them. My plan is to carve out time over the next two days to reach out with Linkedin invites to make sure we stay connected.

Talent-Connect-Banner3. Search Twitter for the hash tag #intalent to make sure there weren’t any great tweets that I missed out on. There were a lot of tweets going out from the various sessions, so much so that at one point #intalent was trending on Twitter. There may be some nuggets that I missed so I will do some “mining” of the stream to make sure I didn’t miss anything.

4. Share relevant content with my team. In short order, once I have had a chance to digest all the information, I need to bring my team up to speed on what I learned. There are a lot of things that they can use and apply right away in their day to day jobs. Based on our current needs, I will especially impart Stacy Donovan Zapar’s credo re. great content – that is, it needs to make readers “share, care or swear.” I don’t think I can ever forget that line!

5. Most importantly, I need to provide my boss with a brief report and show him why the conference was of value to me and our organization. He made an investment in me to attend, I need to show him why it was worth his organizational dollars to send me (this won’t be hard, but it is a must do!)

6. Focus in on implementing/kick-starting ONE thing that I learned/took away from Talent Connect within the next 30 days. Then, I plan on implementing/kick-starting an additional item within the next 60-90 days. Overall, if I can take what I learned and apply 2-3 new things/changes within my team and organization in the next quarter, than I would classify my attendance at the conference as being totally valuable.

7. Last but not least, I need to start working on the business case for Talent Connect 2014 in San Francisco……

What about you? Any other advice (if you attended TC 2013) on what I should be doing? What about from other conferences you have attended? Do you have any insights into how you keep the momentum going post-conference? As always, I welcome your comments and feedback.

Photo credit: Sheila Scarborough

Image courtesy of Linkedin.com

2 Responses

  1. Thanks, Scott! So nice to meet you at Talent Connect last week! As much as I wish I could take credit for the “share, care or swear” tidbit, I heard it from the awesome and amazing Sarah Evans (@prsarahevans)! It’s pure gold though, isn’t it? 🙂

    Great recap of a great conference!

Leave a Reply

