• Important Info:

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow The Armchair HR Manager – Advice from an "HR Fan" on WordPress.com
  • Recent Posts

Happy Blog’versary to me!

Well today marks the one year anniversary of The Armchair HR Manager. A year ago when I started this blog, I didn’t really have a plan per se as to what I wanted to do with it or where I wanted it to go. I simply started the blog for an audience of one – me. I made the decision in the summer of 2012 that I wanted a place to capture my thoughts, ideas, etc. as it pertained to management practices, leadership and HR best practices. I had all these ideas and thoughts in head, coupled with years of experience that I wanted to capture – so that is why I decided to start the blog. The added benefit of capturing these thoughts and sharing them publicly was that it had the indirect effect of drawing others into my blog. It was very motivating to have others read my posts, comment and encourage/suggest future posts.

It was then that I realized there was an audience for my musings and thoughts! (They really DO love me!) Seriously though, I have come to realize that I truly do love writing. I have come to enjoy the dialogue (in person and email) that I have with folks that read my posts. Often the posts really resonate with them and they pick up some useful bits of information. Other times, I get challenged on what I presented and why – and that is ok too! I stand by what I write and I am always happy to engage with those that take the time to read and constructively criticize!

Blog AnniversaryI feel I am still trying to hone my overall “style” and theming, but my overall goal, aside from capturing my own thoughts, is now to try and share and connect with as many folks as possible. My posts have run the gamut from basic tips on interviewing, enhancing your profile on LinkedIn, etc. to being a more effective recruiter or improving your communication as a leader. I really enjoy when I can make that connection with a reader and something really resonates with them. Overall I have enjoyed my experience being part of the HR blogging community and I am looking forward to what the next 12 months brings.

I wanted to give a shout out to a few folks who have made my initial blogging experience so positive. I have received support and/or inspiration from the folks below in some form or another. Some of them I have connected with directly, others, simply through their great writing. I would like to think of this list as not only a list of thank you’s, but also a list of “must read” bloggers for their content is also top notch!

1) Jay Kuhns ( No Excuses HR) – Jay provides great leadership and HR content and is a great supporter of new HR bloggers. Despite his busy schedule and responsibilities as a VP of HR, Jay welcomed me into the HR blogging community and really helps spread the word by tweeting some of my posts. Thanks for all your support Jay!
2) Miriam Salpeter (Keppie Careers) – Miriam was the person who first got me into blogging. Her book, Social Networking for Career Success, was a great starting point for me. Miriam has been supportive of my blogging endeavours and is a great supporter of the blogging community.
3) Sara Rickover (Behind the Corporate Veil) – Sara writes a lot about employment law in the U.S. and provides some really great content. She is also awesome at commenting on my blog and I appreciate her feedback!
4) Mike Lehr (Omega Z Advisors) – Mike is an awesome writer and provides some real cerebral content on his blog. Mike is an HR problem solver who provides some great content on his blog – you should check him out! Oh yeah, and he is great at sharing other bloggers’ content – thanks for all the support Mike!
5) Jane Watson (Talent Vanguard) – Jane is a fellow Canuck and provides some great perspective on all things HR. Jane has a great eye for all things HR and really causes her readers to reflect on her content. Jane has been support of my blog over the past year and I appreciate her sharing/re-tweeting my content!
6) Susan Avello (HR Virtual Café) – What can I say other than Susan is the best! She is the Queen (bee) of social media! Susan provides some great content through a very engaging and uplifting writing style. She loves the puns and brings a smile to my face when I read her posts. She is awesome at sharing other bloggers content too and I appreciate all that she has done for me over the past year.
7) Jason Lauritsen (Talent Anarchy) – What can I say other than Jason rocks. He writes about changing the way we do HR, how we look at our workplaces and consider diversity. He is an HR rock star and it is always great fun to chat/engage with as Jason as makes you work out your grey matter!

Well, there you have it – my lucky seven list of blogging inspiration and supporters. Thanks for all your support over the past year. I appreciate all that YOU do!

Image courtesy of cooldesign/freedigitalphotos.net

2 Responses

  1. Way to go, Scott! Thank you for the kind words. I appreciate them. Gee, you’ve been blogging a whole year! Well, don’t stop now. We need your insights and wisdom. Again, congratulations on a great job and the discipline to keep going. I’ll see you around! ~Mike

  2. Thanks for the kind words Mike – I always appreciate your insight!

Leave a Reply

